A Games tradition that celebrates the Commonwealth’s diversity, inspires community pride and excites people about the world-class festival of sports and culture to come.

The Baton carries a message from Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II that calls the Commonwealth’s athletes to come together in peaceful and friendly competition.

On 25 December 2017 after 288 days travelling on an international sector the Baton will begin it’s journey through Australia before arriving on the Gold Coast for the XXI Commonwealth Games Opening Ceremony on 4 April 2018.

Commonwealth Games Australia (CGA) has been allocated 380 batonbearer positions and we welcome direct nominations from athletes, national sporting organisations and CGA state divisions.
CGA will review and assess all direct nominations before forwarded to GOLDOC.


Batonbearer nomination and selection guidelines:

CGA will nominate individuals who we believe successfully meet one or more of the nomination categories below and will seek to identify athletes and officials in the following categories:

  • Flagbearers
  • Multi-Games athletes
  • Multi-medal athletes
  • Hometown heroes – athletes/officials in locations where they have a strong local connection
  • Previous Chefs de Mission
  • A cross-section of all sports and equality of gender
  • A cross-section of past and present athletes with a small selection of future athletes from Commonwealth Youth Games participants past and present

In line with the GC2018 general nomination criteria, the CGA will also consider nominations from individuals who have made a significant contribution to the Commonwealth Games Movement, however the majority of batonbearer positions will be filled by past and present athletes.

It is important to note that any travel costs will be at the expense of the successful batonbearer.

The list of Australian Celebration Communities (dates, states and towns/suburbs) is provided in Appendix A and can also be found at www.GCCG2018.com/qbr.


  • The Star
  • Griffith University
  • TAFE Queensland
  • KPMG
  • Minter Ellison
  • Seek
  • Tickettek
  • Atos