Gaye Shale

  • Birth Place


  • Birth State


  • Year of Birth


  • Height


Languages Spoken:


Are you a citizen of a country other than Australia? If yes, please provide details?


Education Details:

Bachelor Arts (Recreation) - Victorian University 1989

Club details:

Wangaratta Clay Target Club

Why did you begin your sport?

My late Husband Jerome Shale got me involved in the sport over 30 years ago. I went along to have a look and try it out. We use to compete in local shoots when we had the time. He always said II was good enough to make an Australian team, but we never had the time or money to pursue. After his death, I decided to see what I could achieve and took up Double Trap in 2001.

Do you have any pre-competition routines or rituals?

- Just be myself

What is your most memorable sporting achievement?

Making the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow , and having my 3 children there to support me

Who is your hero / idol, and why? Have you ever met them?

"ROCKY " Balboa - I know he is only a movie character but I have always related to him, being an underdog and his determination to never ever give up....

Who has been the most influential person or people in your career and why?

My three children have been the most influential people in my career. Admittedly when they were younger they were dragged to the gun clubs, but they were my biggest fans and support crew. Forever giving me encouragement when I needed it, and they still do today. I would not be here without them.

Do you have any hobbies away from your sport?

I love anything to do with the outdoors. Any time I have the opportunity I go mountain bike riding, hiking, swimming, fishing, camping, and any fun activity i can share with my kids, like skydiving.

What is your sporting ambition?

To win a Gold Medal