Boyle joins hall of fame legends

By David McPherson


Raelene Boyle’s legendary status in Australian sport was confirmed last night at the Sport Australia Hall of Fame Gala Dinner.

The most successful Commonwealth track and field athlete of all time was named the 39th legend of Australian sport at Melbourne’s Crown Palladium.

Boyle won seven gold and two silver medals across four Commonwealth Games.

At her peak Boyle was untouchable at the Commonwealth level, winning gold in the 100m, 200m and 4x100m at successive Games in Edinburgh and Christchurch.

The track star was originally inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1985.

Five-time Commonwealth gold medallist Brad McGee and dual Games champ Steve Hooker were two of eight hall of fame inductees.

McGee’s five gold medals came across three Commonwealth Games, winning the individual pursuit in Victoria, Kuala Lumpur and Manchester and team pursuit in Victoria and Kuala Lumpur.

Steve Hooker wore gold around his neck in both Melbourne and Delhi.

Commonwealth Games Australia Chief Medical Officer Dr Grace Bryant is also one of the inductees.

Commonwealth Games stars Sally Pearson and Emily Seebohm were both finalists for the Don Award which recognises the athlete who has most inspired Australia this year.

The honour was taken-out by boxer Jeff Horn.

Olympic taekwondo gold medallist Lauren Burns, dual Paralympic wheelchair basketball gold medallist Troy Sachs, Paralympic pioneer Frank Ponta, AFL superboot Tony Locket and water polo great Debbie Handley Cummins were the other inductees.



Become part of our Commonwealth Games Australia family and get all the latest news our team members!