100 years of rivalry between the Kookaburras and Black Sticks to continue


The Kookaburras will play four matches against the Black Sticks ahead of the upcoming Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games.


The Kookaburras will be hoping to replicate the recent series victory by the Hockeyroos when they take on the Men’s Vantage Black Sticks in New Zealand in a 4-match day series starting tomorrow at the National Hockey Centre in Auckland.

Originally planned to be played alongside the Women earlier this month, the Men’s tournament was postponed following a COVID interruption, affecting the New Zealand squad.

The Trans-Tasman Series against the Black Sticks will be crucial preparation for the forthcoming Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games.

Securing a seventh straight Commonwealth Games gold medal is the next major focus for the Kookaburras before the Men’s World Cup in January 2023.

This year notably marks the 100-year anniversary since the first test match between Australia and New Zealand Men’s Teams.

The first match took place on the 27th of September 1922 as an Australian touring team headed across the Tasman Sea bound for the New Zealand north island city of Palmerston North.

Since that first encounter, Australian and New Zealand Men’s Teams have played 152 times over the past 100 years.

The nation’s women’s teams have met 151 times following the completion of their recent 4-match Trans-Tasman Series.

The 4-match Trans-Tasman series begins tomorrow and broadcast LIVE in Australia on LIVEHockey with the first match free and the remaining matches requiring a series subscription.


Match Schedule:

Tuesday 31 May – 19.05pm NZT (17.05pm AEST)

Thursday 2nd June – 19.05pm NZT (17.05pm AEST)

Saturday 4th June – 13.35pm NZT (11.35am AEST)

Sunday 5th June – 13.35pm NZT (11.35am AEST)


Kookaburras 2022 Trans-Tasman Series Squad:

Jacob Anderson 22/03/1997 Mackay, QLD 27 (10)
Daniel Beale 12/02/1993 Brisbane, QLD 194 (30)
Josh Beltz 24/04/1995 Hobart, TAS 56 (4)
Tim Brand 29/11/1998 Chatswood, NSW 53 (23)
Andrew Charter (gk) 30/03/1987 Canberra, ACT 195 (0)
Matthew Dawson 27/04/1994 Killarney Vale, NSW 154 (12)
Johan Durst (gk) 18/03/1991 Melbourne, VIC 5 (0)
Nathan Ephraums 9/06/1999 Keysborough, VIC 12 (5)
Blake Govers 6/07/1996 Wollongong, NSW 113 (99)
Jake Harvie 5/03/1998 Dardanup, WA 73 (4)
Jeremy Hayward 3/03/1993 Darwin, NT 174 (77)
Tim Howard 23/06/1996 Wakerley, QLD 77 (1)
Dylan Martin 12/01/1998 Wagga Wagga, NSW 16 (0)
Eddie Ockenden 3/04/1987 Hobart, TAS 384 (71)
Flynn Ogilvie 17/09/1993 Wollongong, NSW 127 (23)
Josh Simmonds 4/10/1995 Melbourne, VIC 35 (2)
Jack Welch 26/10/1997 Hobart, TAS 13 (5)
Jake Whetton 15/06/1991 Brisbane, QLD 221 (66)
Tom Wickham 26/05/1990 Perth, WA 69 (33)
Ky Willott 15/03/2001 Newcastle, NSW 4 (2)
Aran Zalewski 21/03/1991 Margaret River, WA 202 (26)



Become part of our Commonwealth Games Australia family and get all the latest news our team members!