Dr Peter Harcourt AM


Awarded Life Membership 19 May 2023


Birth: 7 February 1950, Melbourne VIC


Dr Peter Harcourt AM is a Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) Medical Advisor, where he holds the chair to the Anti-Doping and Medical Commission and the Executive Board.

Dr Harcourt, a member of Commonwealth Games Australia’s (CGA) Performance Healthcare Advisory Group and Australian Team Medical Director at the Delhi 2010 Commonwealth Games is recognised as one of the leading professionals in his field with decades of experience working in international sport.

He has worked across the Commonwealth Games in various capacities, including when he was a member of the CGF Medical Commission for Gold Coast 2018.

He was Chief Medical Officer at Melbourne 2006 and Chair of the CGA’s Medical Commission, while also attending multiple Commonwealth Games and Olympic Games as a team medical officer.

Dr Harcourt currently chairs both the International Cricket Council (ICC) Medical Advisory Committee and the Federation of International Basketball Associations (FIBA) Medical Commission, whilst being a member of the Prohibited List Expert Group of the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) and an Anti-Doping Medical Officer to Cricket Australia.

He was the Medical Director of the Australian Football League (AFL), in addition to his 15 years at Hawthorn Football Club and 10 years as part of the AFL academy.

Following the position of Chief Medical Officer to Basketball Australia, Dr Harcourt was awarded onto the Australia Basketball Hall of Fame inductee class of 2022.

He was appointed to the Independent Pandemic Management Advisory Committee (IPMAC) that includes a panel of independent experts to provide oversight and advice as part of Australia’s most transparent and accountable pandemic management framework.

In 2023, Dr Harcourt received a Medal of the Order of Australia for significant service to sports and exercise medicine, and to anti-doping monitoring.


Become part of our Commonwealth Games Australia family and get all the latest news our team members!