PRINT PAGE

Katrin Garfoot

Sport / Discipline

Cycling

Birth Place

Eggenfelden

Birth state

QLD

Date of Birth

08/10/1981

Age

38

Glasgow, 2014

Gold Coast, 2018

Results History

GAMES SPORT / DISCIPLINE EVENT / PHASE OPPONENT PERFORMANCE RESULT MEDAL

Use the options above to search athlete records

Additional Information

Languages Spoken:

No

Are you a citizen of a country other than Australia? If yes, please provide details?

No

Education Details:

Sport Science, TU-Munich, Germany / Human Biology, Auckland, NZ / Teaching secondary, Mt Gravatt, Australia

Club details:

Gold Coast Cycling Club, Gold Coast

Why did you begin your sport?

I felt left out, when my husband went Mountain bike riding with his friends in 2009, so I joined in. He bought me mountain bikes and a few road bikes over the years and eventually said that I should race, so I did. My first crit was in October 2011 at Murrarie in Brisbane.

Do you have any pre-competition routines or rituals?

Nothing out of the ordinary, but a list of ordinary stuff in the lead up to a time trial. I did cut my nails before the Worlds Road race this year, just in the hope it would make me lighter.

What is your most memorable sporting achievement?

The two medals at the World championships 2017 in Bergen.

Who is your hero / idol, and why? Have you ever met them?

I don't do idols. I like to admire attributes of people instead, which I then like to aim for.

Who has been the most influential person or people in your career and why?

Husband Chris, for pushing me into the sport. My coach Kim, for helping me achieve for many years now. Marv, the former national coach, for giving me opportunities and believing in me.

Do you have any hobbies away from your sport?

I love knitting, especially when it is colder outside. I love kitesurfing, but did not have much time for it over the last few years.

What is your sporting ambition?

I would love to win one of the big ITTs in the future.