Commonwealth Games Australia last night confirmed 51 athletes for Gold Coast 2018 (GC2018).

A total of 47 names have been added to the Australian Commonwealth Games team from this weekend’s 2018 Australian Athletics Championships & Nomination Trial, with four selected from the recent Australian 20km Race Walking Championships.

Australian Team Chef de Mission Steve Moneghetti welcomed the athletes on to the Australian Team.

“Over the last two weekends at the Australian Championships, we saw some amazing performances by our Australian athletes on the road and within track and field,” Moneghetti said.

“We have already welcomed the first 14 athletes on to the Australian Commonwealth Games Team, but it is incredibly exciting to welcome a further 51 athletes that have achieved an automatic nomination at Australian Championships.

“The Games are now only 44 days away and the team is getting stronger and stronger,” Moneghetti said.

The Gold Coast’s Sally Pearson (100m hurdles, Qld), is one of four athletes heading for their record equalling fourth Commonwealth Games. Pearson is keen to not be distracted by the pressure of competing on home ground.

“I feel exactly the same, yes it’s a home Games and that is exciting, but I don’t think like that,” she said.

“In my head it is just another race and this Commonwealth Games could be anywhere in the world, but it just happens to be here.

“I will be thinking like it’s in any stadium in the world. I don’t think I’ll get overwhelmed by the situation as I have a lot of experience under my belt.”

Joining Pearson is Kathryn Mitchell (javelin, Vic), Benn Harradine (discus, Qld) and Lauren Wells (ACT, 400m hurdles), each headed for a record-equalling fourth Commonwealth Games.

“To win a title and automatic selection is fantastic,” Wells said. “The Games are going to be incredible. As a 17-year-old I got to run at the Melbourne Commonwealth Games in 2006 and it’s still one of my favourite events and performances I have ever been in.”

Wells is looking for that elusive podium after finishing fourth at Delhi 2010 and Glasgow 2014.

Olympic bronze medallist, Dane Bird-Smith is another local athlete selected, courtesy of his win at the Australian 20km Race Walking Championships.

“Competing on the Gold Coast for a Commonwealth title is going to be the highlight of the year,” he said. “I can’t wait to get out on the road and feel the energy of the crowd lining the course. I know it will bring out the best in me.”

Reigning Commonwealth champions, Angie Ballard (T54 1500m), Dani Stevens (discus) and Sally Pearson (100m hurdles) will have a chance to defend their titles.

Queensland’s Matt Denny becomes the first athlete since Keith Pardon (NSW) in 1938 and 1950 to represent Australia in both the hammer and discus at the Commonwealth Games when he competes at Gold Coast 2018.

“Because I’ve done it all my life, it’s normal for me,” Denny said of his juggling act. “I love it. I’m one of the only people that can throw this far in both events in the world and we’ve got a lot more to do. I’m dispelling the myth that you can’t do two events and I enjoy proving people wrong.”

At age 17, Bendere Oboya (NSW) becomes the youngest Australian 400m athlete to be selected for the Games in that event. Another 17-year-old Riley Day (Qld), who won the national sprint double on the weekend, has been selected in the 200m.

Both Oboya and Day won gold at The Bahamas 2017 Commonwealth Youth Games.


Australian Commonwealth Games Athletics Team so far:

Alex Hartmann            200m

Alex Hulley                  Hammer

Angela Ballard            T54 1500m

Anneliese Rubie         400m

Beki Smith                   20km Walk

Bendere Oboya           400m

Benn Harradine           Discus

Brandon Starc             High Jump

Brianna Coop              T35 100m

Brittany McGowan      800m

Brooke Stratton           Long Jump

Cameron Crombe       F38 Shot Put

Cassie Purdon            High Jump

Cedric Dubler              Decathlon

Celeste Mucci             Heptathlon

Celia Sullohern           10,000 metres; 5000m

Chris Hamer                Marathon

Chris Mitrevski            Long Jump

Damien Birkinhead     Shot Put

Dane Bird-Smith         20km Walk

Dani Stevens              Discus Throw

Dave McNeill               5000m

Elizabeth Parnov         Pole Vault

Emmanuel Fakiye       Triple Jump

Erin Cleaver                T38 Long Jump

Evan O’Hanlon            T38 100 metres

Georgia Griffith           800m

Hamish Peacock         Javelin Throw

Ian Dewhurst              400m Hurdles

Isis Holt                       T35 100 metres

Jake Lappin                T54 1500m

James Nipperess        3000m Steeplechase

Jemima Montag          20km Walk

Jessica Trengove      Marathon

Jordan Williamsz         1500m

Joshua Ralph              800m

Kathryn Mitchell          Javelin Throw

Kelsey-Lee Roberts    Javelin Throw

Kurtis Marschall          Pole Vault

Lauren Wells               400m Hurdles

Liam Adams                Marathon

Linden Hall                  1500m

Lisa Weightman          Marathon

Luke Mathews             800m

Madeline Hills             5000m

Madison Coates          200m

Madison de Rozario    T54 1500 metres

Matt Denny                 Hammer, Discus

Michael Shelley           Marathon

Michelle Jenneke        100m Hurdles

Morgan McDonald      5000m

Naa Anang                  Long Jump

Nicholas Hough          110m Hurdles

Nina Kennedy             Pole Vault

Patrick Tiernan            10,000 metres

Riley Day                    200m

Ryan Gregson             1500m

Sally Pearson              100m Hurdles

Stewart McSweyn       10,000 metres

Taryn Gollshewsky     Discus Throw

Trae Williams              100m

Victoria Mitchell          3000m steeplechase

Virginia Moloney         Marathon

Zoe Buckman              1500m




Become part of our Commonwealth Games Australia family and get all the latest news our team members!