Australian Women’s Cricket squad named for series against India


Australia and India will battle it out across all three formats, with the schedule including three one-day internationals, a historic day-night test match at the WACA Ground and three Twenty20 internationals.

Two heavyweights of Commonwealth cricket will face-off next month when Australia takes on India in a seven-game series in Perth across the three formats of the sport.

The sides will compete in three one-day international matches, a historic day-night test match, and three T20 matches, the version of the sport that will make its Commonwealth Games debut at the Birmingham Games.

Australia, currently the International Cricket Council’s (ICC’s) top-ranked T20 women’s side, and India, the third-ranked nation, are expected to be amongst the medal favourites at the Commonwealth Games next year.

In April, Commonwealth Games Australia with the agreement of Cricket Australia accepted the qualification place from the Commonwealth Games Federation for the Australian Women’s Team to compete at the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games.


Commonwealth Games Australia, with the agreement of Cricket Australia, is delighted to accept the qualification place from the Commonwealth Games Federation for the Australian Women’s Team to compete at the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games.

Before sides could meet in August 2022, this series in September 2021 will see India and Australia meet for the first time since the 2020 T20 World Cup final.

The final held on International Women’s Day in March 2020 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, saw 86,174 people watch Australia captain Meg Lanning‘s team claim their fifth title.

The teams had been scheduled to meet in January this year, but the series was shifted when the ODI World Cup was postponed until early 2022.

It is also the first time since the T20 World Cup in March 2020 that Australia will play anyone other than New Zealand due to the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The test match at the WACA Ground will be the first test between Australia and India’s women since 2007 and it’ll be Australia’s first match in the format since the 2019 Ashes in England.

While the Australian team will partake in a test match on the field, the current challenges brought about the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic are proving to be a test away from the field for the 18-strong squad who across the nation.

Australia’s squad includes six players from New South Wales, six from Victoria, two from South Australia, two from Tasmania and two from Queensland.

The NSW players are reported to be on standby to leave their state to begin quarantine in Western Australia as early as next week, while quarantine restrictions in the state have brought about changes to the team, including star bowler Megan Schutt withdrawing from the series to remain in NSW to be with her pregnant wife.

With the star bowler out, this could see Lanning handing the new ball to a number of young fiery quicks, such as Tayla Vlaeminck and Darcie Brown, to take on India’s star-studded top order.

“There’s no doubt that Megan not being there does leave a bit of a hole … she’s such a consistent player so I will certainly miss her, but we’ve got a number of fast bowling options and we’ve been working on building depth in that area for a while now,” Lanning told

“Bringing Stella Campbell into the into the mix is really exciting, she brings some real genuine pace and bounce, and we have Darcie Brown who was in New Zealand not too long ago.

“You put that with Tayla Vlaeminck and Ellyse Perry and Annabel Sutherland (and) we feel like we’ve got some really good options there.

“To be honest, I haven’t quite looked at who might take that that new ball, but the exciting thing is we’ve got so many options to look at and it just provides such a great opportunity for players to step up and see what they’ve got.”

This series against India will provide valuable experience to the squad and provide Lanning, head coach Matthew Mott and national selector Shawn Flegler an insight to the team ahead the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games next year.

The Birmingham 2022 cricket program begins on 29 July 2022 and concludes with the gold medal match at Edgbaston on 7 August 2022.


Australian Women’s Cricket Team vs India:

Sep 19: First ODI, North Sydney Oval (D/N)

Sep 22: Second ODI, Junction Oval

Sep 24: Third ODI, Junction Oval

Sep 30 – Oct 3: Test match, WACA Ground (D/N)

Oct 7: First T20, North Sydney Oval

Oct 9: Second T20, North Sydney Oval

Oct 11: Third T20, North Sydney Oval

Australian Women’s Cricket Team:

Meg Lanning (c)
Rachael Haynes (vc)
Darcie Brown
Maitlan Brown
Stella Campbell
Nicola Carey
Hannah Darlington
Ashleigh Gardner
Alyssa Healy
Tahlia McGrath
Sophie Molineux
Beth Mooney
Ellyse Perry
Georgia Redmayne
Molly Strano
Annabel Sutherland
Tayla Vlaeminck
Georgia Wareham

With thanks Cricket Australia and



Become part of our Commonwealth Games Australia family and get all the latest news our team members!