Brisbane to host Australia’s best track cyclists


Australia’s best track cyclists will race for the coveted green and gold national champion jerseys across March and April at the Anna Meares Velodrome in Brisbane.


Australia’s best track cyclists across all age categories will race for the coveted green and gold national champion jerseys across March and April at the Anna Meares Velodrome in Brisbane.

The 2022 AusCycling Track National Championships for the Elite, Para-cycling, Under 19, 17 and 15 and Masters categories will see more than 150 national champions crowned over the three Championships.

The stars of the Australian Cycling Team’s track squad will be out in force from March 26-30, including Commonwealth Games medallists Matthew Glaetzer and Nathan Hart plus Tokyo 2020 Olympians Maeve Plouffe and Matthew Richardson.

Richardson, the back-to-back men’s sprint national champion, said “to do the triple on Saturday would be amazing”.

“It’s going to be a super hard sprint comp as all the boys are in really good form,” Richardson said.

“I’m just looking to go out there and do my best and I’m super keen to be back racing Track Nats – I love representing Western Australia at this level.

“It’s going to be an awesome four days of high-level racing ahead of the Oceania Championships and 2022 UCI Track Nations Cup season.”

Paralympic Games gold medallists Paige Greco, Emily Petricola, Darren Hicks, and Amanda Reid will headline the Para-cycling events.

“My goals for #TrackNats22 are to put in solid performances across all my events,” Petricola said.

“There isn’t a specific time or result I am chasing this time around as we are six months away from the 2022 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships.

“We shall see what the legs have in them though and I’ll be giving my best that’s for sure because I always love being here racing and training at Anna Meares Velodrome.

“Before I lived up here (Brisbane) I was always a bit intimidated by it and worried about the shape being so different from Adelaide and before that DISC, but now it is by far and away my favourite track to race on.”

The sport’s next generation of talent, including Kristina Clonan, Thomas Cornish, and Conor Leahy will be looking to make their mark with the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games looming in July.

“I couldn’t be more excited to be back home in Queensland racing #TrackNats22,” Clonan said.

“We finally have some confidence in travel for international racing, this includes Commonwealth Games in the middle of the year, and I’m keen to get the ball rolling and see where the form is at heading into a huge season ahead.”

Cycling enthusiasts will be hoping to unearth the potential stars of the Brisbane 2032 Olympic Games during the Junior National Championships (under 15 and 17 categories) to be held from March 24-27.

The track action will continue from 11-14 April when hundreds of the country’s best masters age cyclists aged 30+ contest the four-day Masters Track National Championships.

The 2022 AusCycling Track National Championships is part of the Brisbane Cycling Festival 2022. It is proudly supported by Brisbane City Council, through Brisbane Economic Development Agency and the Queensland Government, through Tourism and Events Queensland, and features on the It’s Live! in Queensland events calendar.


AusCycling National Championships

Session 1 – Thursday, March 24, 10am

  • JM17 Team Pursuit

Session 2 – Thursday, March 24, 5:30pm

  • JW17 Team Sprint
  • JW15 Individual Pursuit
  • JW17 Individual Pursuit
  • JW15 Scratch Race
  • JM15 Points Race
  • JM17 Omnium
  • JW17 Madison
  • JM15 Sprint
  • JM17 Sprint

Session 3 – Friday, March 25, 10:30am

  • JW17 Team Pursuit

Session 4 – Friday, March 25, 5:30pm

  • JM17 Team Sprint
  • JM15 Individual Pursuit
  • JW15 Sprint
  • JW17 Sprint
  • JM17 Individual Pursuit
  • JM15 Scratch Race
  • JW15 Points Race
  • JW17 Omnium
  • JM17 Madison

Session 5 – Saturday March, 26, 10am

  • JW17 Time Trial
  • JM17 Time Trial
  • J19 Women Team Pursuit
  • JM15 Keirin
  • JW15 Keirin

Session 6 – Saturday, March 26, 5pm

  • J19 Madison
  • J19 Women Scratch Race
  • J19 Men Team Sprint
  • JW17 Points Race
  • JM17 Points Race
  • Elite Women Keirin
  • Elite Women Scratch Race
  • Elite Men Points Race
  • Elite Men Sprint

Session 7 – Sunday, March 27, 9am

  • JM15 Time Trial
  • JW15 Time Trial
  • JW17 Keirin
  • JM17 Keirin
  • JW17 Scratch Race
  • JM17 Scratch Race

Session 8 – Sunday, March 27, 5pm

  • J19 Women Keirin
  • Elite Men Keirin
  • Elite Men Team Pursuit
  • J19 Men Points Race
  • Elite Women Sprint
  • Elite Women Omnium
  • Elite Men Scratch Race

Session 9 – Monday, March 28, 12pm

  • Para Time Trial

Session 10 – Monday, March 28, 5.30pm

  • J19 Women Team Sprint
  • J19 Women Individual Pursuit
  • Elite Women Individual Pursuit
  • J19 Women Points Race
  • Elite Men Team Sprint
  • J19 Men Sprint
  • J19 Men Omnium

Session 12 – Tuesday, March 29, 5:30pm

  • J19 Men Individual Pursuit
  • Para Individual Pursuit
  • J19 Men Keirin
  • J19 Women Sprint
  • J19 Women Madison
  • Elite Women Team Pursuit
  • Elite Women Team Sprint
  • Elite Men Individual Pursuit

Session 13 – Wednesday, March 30, 10am

  • Para Flying 200
  • J19 Men Time Trial
  • J19 Women Tine Trial
  • Elite Women Time Trial
  • Elite Men Time Trial
  • Para Scratch Race

Session 14 – Wednesday, March 30, 5:30pm

  • J19 Women Omnium
  • Elite Men Omnium
  • J19 Men Team Pursuit
  • Para Tandem Sprint
  • Elite Women Points Race

J19 Men Scratch Race



Become part of our Commonwealth Games Australia family and get all the latest news our team members!