Eight Commonwealth Games alumni to lead Paris 2024 shooting team


Image: Australian Olympic Committee

Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games gold medallist Dane Sampson leads the selection of the 10-strong team, earning his spot at his fourth Olympic Games in the rifle event. 

Joining Swan in the rifle competition will be Team Member Jack Rossiter, competing at his third Olympics. 

Two-time Commonwealth Games medallist Elena Galiabovitch also joins the team for a third Olympic Games, while Gold Coast 2018 silver medallist Sergei Evglevski will compete at his second Games, both competing in pistol events. 

Fresh off a World Cup medal earlier this month, Rio 2016 gold medallist Catherine Skinner returns for her second Games, with James Willett joining the team for his third Olympics, while Aislin Jones, Mitchell Iles and Penny Smith return for their second Games, and Joshua Bell makes his Olympic debut. 

The athletes earned their selection through a gruelling nomination process, combining results from international and domestic competitions over the past six months. 

Whilst shooting was not included in the Birmingham 2022 sport programme, it has a long history at the Commonwealth Games, with Australia leading the all-time medal tally with 171 medals, 70 of them gold. 

The Shooting competition will be held the Châteauroux Shooting Centre, 290km south of Paris. The competition will be held from Saturday 27 July to Monday 5 August.  

With thanks to the Australian Olympic Committee and Shooting Australia. 






Become part of our Commonwealth Games Australia family and get all the latest news our team members!