Gippsland on target for Victoria 2026

Laetisha Scanlan celebrates to the crowd after winning the gold medal at the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games.

Five sports will be showcased in the Gippsland region during the Victoria 2026 Commonwealth Games.


Five sports will be staged in the Gippsland region, with Shooting and Para-shooting bolstering the existing competition schedule of Women’s T20 Cricket, Badminton, Rugby 7s and Road Cycling.

The Cycling Road Race will finish in Gippsland with the Commonwealth’s best racing for gold within central Traralgon.

Cricket T20 is part of a strong women’s sports program and will see the reigning world champion Australian team look to defend the gold medal they won at this year’s Commonwealth Games.

Shooting promises to be exciting and engaging, with players facing stiff competition, including from a strong Indian team that has taken home shooting gold at every Games shooting has appeared on the sports programme since 1998.

This expanded program of sports means more athletes will experience the best of regional Victoria in 2026, attracting thousands of additional visitors to witness the duel for medals.

The Games village location has also been locked in and will be established on English Street, Morwell and will be a home-away-from-home for about 1,000 athletes and officials.

The village will be designed in consultation with the local community and Traditional Owners, celebrating the rich culture of the Gunaikurnai people and the Gippsland region’s vibrant communities and landscapes.

Commonwealth Games Australia Chief Executive Officer Craig Phillips AM was thrilled about the announcement and the showcase of the Gippsland region.

“Commonwealth Games Australia is excited about the program of sports on offer in Gippsland, with Badminton, Rugby 7s, Cricket T20, Road Cycling and the return of Shooting which, for the first time, will include events for Para-athletes,” Phillips said.



Become part of our Commonwealth Games Australia family and get all the latest news our team members!