Hockeyroos dealt heartbreaking injury blows


Our thoughts are with the trio of Hockeyroos who like the rest of the squad have worked so hard and were so excited about competing on the world stage.

The Hockeyroos will be without co-captain Brooke Peris and defender Meg Pearce for the FIH Women’s World Cup 2022 due to injury.

The prognosis for Peris (thigh injury) and Pearce (foot injury) is devastating for the duo and the Hockeyroos ahead of the team’s opening match of the tournament against Japan on Sunday morning Australian time.

The extent of Peris’ injury, which happened during one of the warm up matches, will also see the 29-year-old miss the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games.

21-year-old midfielder Courtney Schonell, who was named to make her Commonwealth Games debut in Birmingham, will also miss the Games after suffering a knee injury in a recent lead up match.

Greta Hayes and Renee Taylor will replace Peris and Pearce in the Hockeyroos’ 18-player Women’s World Cup squad.

The replacements for Peris and Schonell in Australia’s Women’s Hockey Team for the Commonwealth Games is yet to be determined.

“The Hockeyroos are devastated three of their teammates have had to withdraw on the eve of the World Cup and Commonwealth Games,” said Hockey Australia High Performance Director Bernard Savage.

“Our first concern has been for the health and wellbeing of Brooke, Meg and Courtney and managing their disappointment.

“We are working to put in place comprehensive rehabilitation plans for the injured trio and look forward to seeing them back fit and healthy.”

“We have full confidence in both Renee and Greta and the World Cup squad is clearly focused on the job at hand which is their first match on Saturday evening local time.”

The Hockeyroos open their FIH Women’s World Cup 2022 campaign against Japan on Sunday 3 July at 5.30am AEST.


FIH Hockey Women’s World Cup 2022 Spain & Netherlands

Hockeyroos Pool Matches

v Japan (Sunday 3 July, 5.30am AEST)

v Belgium (Wednesday 6 July, 5.30am AEST)

v South Africa (Thursday 7 July, 5.30am AEST)



Become part of our Commonwealth Games Australia family and get all the latest news our team members!