Kookaburras beat India in a thriller to claim Champions Trophy

IMAGE| Michael Willson

The Australian men’s hockey team have prevailed in the Netherlands, winning a nail-biting extra-time final against India to bring home their 15th Champions Trophy.

The teams were tied 1-1 at full-time before Australia managed to get the better of India in the shootouts, denying Sardar Singh, Harmanpreet Singh and Lalit Upadhayay before converting their own first two efforts in the shoot-off.

Jeremy Edwards converted the last try to hand Australia their record 15th Champions Trophy title.

Ranked number one in the world, the Kookaburras are also the 2014 World Cup champions and took home gold at Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games in April. All attention will now turn to the men’s Hockey World Cup In November, where Australia will aim to defend their title.



Become part of our Commonwealth Games Australia family and get all the latest news our team members!