Little, Patterson recognised at NSW Institute of Sport Awards Night

Eleanor Patterson and Mackenzie Little recognised at NSWIS Awards

Mackenzie Little and Eleanor Patterson are among several athletes who were celebrated at the prestigious NSW Institute of Sport (NSWIS) Awards last night, recognising an incredible year of sporting achievements.  


Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games silver medallist Mackenzie Little (athletics), was awarded the Australian College of Physical Education Academic Excellence award for excelling in both her athletic and academic pursuits, after commencing a Doctor of Medicine at the University of Sydney in 2020. 



Eleanor Patterson (athletics), Gold Coast 2018 gold medallist and Birmingham 2022 silver medallist, won the Ian Thorpe AM Outstanding Achievement Award for her heroic performance, after winning a gold medal in women’s high jump at the world championships and in doing so, becoming the first Australian to win a high jump world title. 

Following an incredible career on and off the track, dual Commonwealth Games gold medallist Kurt Fearnley AO (athletics) was presented with the NSWIS ‘Most Outstanding’ honour for his outstanding commitment and personal contribution to sport. 

Fearnley joins seven of Australia’s greatest athletes including Ian Thorpe AM, Alyson Annan OAM, Bradley McGee OAM, Liz Ellis AM, Louise Sauvage OAM, Matthew Mitcham OAM, and Michael Milton OAM. 

NSWIS CEO Professor Kevin Thompson said 26 athletes and six coaches were selected as finalists for the Awards, demonstrating NSW’s depth of sporting talent. 

“It has been another huge year of NSWIS athletes shining on both the domestic and international stage and it is great that we can gather together and celebrate everyone’s achievements,” Prof Thompson said. 

Congratulations to all finalists and winners on their achievements and success. 

2022 NSWIS Award Winners:

  • The Australian College of Physical Education Academic Excellence – Mackenzie Little (Athletics);
  • Ian Thorpe AM Outstanding Achievement Award – Eleanor Patterson (Athletics);
  • Southern Design Junior Athlete of the Year – Tess Coady (Winter Sports);
  • Musashi Coach of the Year – Peter McNiel and Kate Blamey (Winter Sports);
  • Valour Male Athlete of the Year – Ben Tudhope (Winter Sports);
  • Sydney Olympic Park Authority Program of the Year – Winter Sports; and
  • Office of Sport Female Athlete of the Year – Jakara Anthony (Winter Sports) 



Become part of our Commonwealth Games Australia family and get all the latest news our team members!