#OnThisDay April 13, 2018


#OnThisDay (April 13) 2018, Sally Pearson will have the opportunity to win her third consecutive Commonwealth Games 100m hurdles, becoming just the 12th Australian to achieve this in an individual event at the Games. Two athletics competitors

have previously achieved this, race walker Jane Saville and Pam Kilborn – in the same event as Pearson.  Three cyclists and three swimmers have also accomplished this feat. Shooting duo Michael Diamond and Adam Vella won the last three Trap Pairs

event held in this now discontinued event. The first to achieve three consecutive individual titles was Dick Garrard in wrestling, who won in 1934, 1938 and 1950. He also claimed bronze in 1954, a career spanning 20 years including two Games not

held due to World War II. Note there are a number of other Australian’s to achieve this in teams.


Australian’s to win three consecutive individual gold medals

Photo: David Tarbotton

Athletics – Pam Kilborn, 10/100m hurdles (1962-1970)

Athletics – Jane Saville, 10/20km walk (1998-2006)

Cycling – Gary Neiwand, Sprint (1986-1994)

Cycling – Brad McGee, 4000m Individ Pursuit (1994-2002)

Cycling – Anna Meares, 500m Time Trial (2006-2014)

Shooting – Michael Diamond/Adam Vella, Trap Pairs (2002-2010)

Swimming – Mike Wenden, 100m Freestyle (1966-1974)

Swimming – Leisel Jones, 100m & 200m Breaststroke (2002-2010)

Swimming – Petria Thomas, 100m Butterfly (1994-2002)

Wrestling – Dick Garrard, Lightweight (1934-1950)



Become part of our Commonwealth Games Australia family and get all the latest news our team members!