Swimming Australia selects Dolphins for World Para Swimming Championships


Eight Commonwealth Games Australia alumni are bound for the World Para Swimming Championships in June.

Swimming Australia has announced the Australian Dolphins team to compete at the 2022 World Para Swimming Championships in June.

The World Para Swimming Championships team was named at the conclusion of the 2022 Australian Para Swimming Championships in Adelaide.

The squad of 21 includes 19 athletes returning from the Tokyo Paralympics campaign, including newly elected Dolphins Para Athlete Leaders Rowan Crothers, Lakeisha Patterson and Katja Dedekind.

Gold Coast 2018 gold medallist Matt Levy and fellow Tokyo Gold medalists Will Martin, Benjamin Hance,  and Rachael Watson are also set to compete, while 16-year-old West Australian Alex Saffy will make his Dolphins debut as the sole rookie on the team.

Swimming Australia CEO, Eugénie Buckley, congratulated the team on their selection.

“Our Tokyo Paralympic campaign set an excellent standard and I have no doubt this team will again represent us strongly as we reset for the first international benchmark event of this new cycle,” Buckley said.

“We’ve witnessed first hand the strength and depth of our pathway this week and this squad possesses a fantastic mix of seasoned veterans and our next generation of para-swimming stars.”

“Any opportunity to represent our country on the world stage should be cherished and I know this team will perform in a way that continues the proud legacy of the Australian Dolphins.”

The Dolphins team will be led by Head Coach Brendan Burkett and supported by Performance Coach Greg Towle and Team Coaches Nathan Doyle, David Proud, Kate Sparkes and Martin Roberts.

The 2022 World Para Swimming Championships will run from June 12-18 in Madeira, Portugal.

2022 World Para Swimming Championships Australian Dolphins team

Name Club
Emily Beecroft USC Spartans
Rowan Crothers Yeronga Park
Katja Dedekind Yeronga Park
Tom Gallagher USC Spartans
Jasmine Greenwood Bay & Basin
Brenden Hall Belgravia
Benjamin Hance USC Spartans
Timothy Hodge Blacktown
Jack Ireland University of Queensland
Paige Leonhardt Belgravia
Matthew Levy North Sydney
William Martin Nudgee College
Madeleine McTernan All Saints
Jake Michel Carina Leagues
Grant Patterson Central Cairns
Lakeisha Patterson Belgravia
Col Pearse Nunawading
Alex Saffy Bunbury
Keira Stephens USC Spartans
Ruby Storm USC Spartans
Rachael Watson Chandler



Become part of our Commonwealth Games Australia family and get all the latest news our team members!