Commonwealth Games gold medallist headlines Para-Table Tennis Team for Paris 2024

Image credit: Paralympics Australia


Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games gold medallist Qian Yang is amongst the 12-strong para-table tennis team selected for the upcoming Paris Olympics, with the team the largest since 1968.

The powerhouse team includes Danni Di Toro, who will compete at her eighth Paralympic Games, as well as Gold Coast 2018 gold medallist Melissa Tapper who will compete at her fourth Paralympics and third Olympic Games.

Lina Lei, who took home silver from Birmingham 2022, will captain the team alongside Sam von Einem, whose silver medal at Rio 2016 was Australia’s first in table tennis since Terry Biggs won gold in 1984.

The squad also includes debutants Chris Addis, Hayley Sands, Jessy Chen and Jimmy Huo, with Lin Ma and Nathan Pellissier rounding out the team selection.

Tapper said being part of the team for Paris 2024 felt even more special than previous Games because of the people involved.

“They are some of the most incredible humans I’ve ever met,” she said.

“I’m very lucky. It’s my fourth time getting to represent Australia at the Paralympic Games. Since my first Games, London 2012, I’ve seen how every Games is different. But I think Paris will do a fantastic job.

“I’d say to the new members of the team to try to enjoy every moment that they compete, embrace all the nerves and excitement that comes along with the Games and, beyond that, the athletes they’re going to meet and the experiences they have are going to last a lifetime.”

The Para-Table Tennis Competition will be held from 29 August to 7 September at the South Paris Arena 4.

Current Australian Paralympic Table Tennis Team (As at 12 July 2024)

Name Age State Paralympic Games Experience Commonwealth Games Experience
Chris Addis 35 VIC Debut
Daniela Di Toro 49 VIC Tokyo 2020; Rio 2016; London 2012; Beijing 2008, Athens 2004 – Women’s Singles – Bronze; Sydney 2000 – Women’s Doubles – Silver; Atlanta 1996 Birmingham 2022 - Women's Singles 3-5 - Group Matches
Hayley Sands 24 SA Debut
Jessy Chen 34 NSW Debut Birmingham 2022 – Men’s Singles 3-5 – Group Matches
Jimmy Huo NSW Debut
Lin Ma 34 VIC Tokyo 2020; Rio 2016; London 2012; Beijing 2008 Birmingham 2022 – Men’s Singles 8-10 – Silver
Lina Lei 36 VIC Tokyo 2020; Rio 2016; London 2012; Beijing 2008; Athens 2004 Birmingham 2022 – Women’s Singles 6-10 – Silver
Melissa Tapper 34 VIC Tokyo 2020; Rio 2016; London 2012 Gold Coast 2018 – Women’s Singles 6-10 – Gold
Nathan Pellisier 28 VIC Tokyo 2020
Qian Yang 28 VIC Tokyo 2020; Rio 2016; London 2012 Birmingham 2022 – Women’s Singles 6-10 – Gold
Sam Von Einem 29 SA Tokyo 2020; Rio 2016
Trevor Hirth 40 VIC Tokyo 2020



Become part of our Commonwealth Games Australia family and get all the latest news our team members!