Gill, Iakovleva, Kiroi-Bogatyreva ready to be #BoldInGold


The Aussie trio are ready to be Bold, Brave and Brilliant in Birmingham!

The Australian Rhythmic Gymnastics Team is set to shine with their grace and elegance, as they prepare to showcase their unique skills during the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games.

The strong team of three includes debutants Ashari Gill and Lidiia Iakovleva, as well as Alexandra Kiroi-Bogatyreva, who will be making her second Commonwealth Games appearance.

Kiroi-Bogatyreva, who was part of the bronze-medal winning team at the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games, also claimed the bronze medal in the ball competition.

She joins the team following a successful international campaign at the 2022 World Games and the 21st Maccabiah Games, bringing a range of recent worldwide experiences to the squad.

Of the debutants, Iakovleva brings her own significant experience, after being selected to represent Australia at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

Rounding out the team, Gill, also joined Kiroi-Bogatyreva and Iakovleva as part of the Australian Team at the 2022 Oceania Continental Championships.

The championships, held in May, saw the trio sweep the competition, winning gold in hoop, ball, ribbon, and clubs.

They will compete together in the team event, where they hope to secure Australia’s first gold medal in the event since the Delhi 2010 Commonwealth Games.

Following that, athletes who qualify will compete in the individual all-around final, as well as individual finals for hoop, ball, clubs, and ribbon apparatus, with a maximum of two per country eligible to compete in each event.

All three athletes demonstrate the beauty and artistry unique to rhythmic gymnastics, bringing their own flair to the individual apparatus, which will be on full display the Birmingham Games.

They are ready to hit the competition floor and be bold in gold against the best rhythmic gymnasts from against the Commonwealth.



Become part of our Commonwealth Games Australia family and get all the latest news our team members!