Commonwealth Games Australia today announced the 13-member Gymnastics team for the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games (GC2018).

The team comprises a mix of youth and experience and will be headlined by Rhythmic Gymnast Danielle Prince, who will be competing in her third Commonwealth Games.

Prince made her Commonwealth Games debut at Delhi 2010, where as an 18-year-old she combined with her teammates to take out a gold medal in the Team competition, and now as a 25-year-old, Prince will become first Australian female gymnast – across any discipline – to compete at three Commonwealth Games, when she takes to the floor on the Gold Coast.

“Obviously it’s a great honour to be selected to represent Australia at the 2018 Commonwealth Games,” Prince said.

“I never took any of the selection process for granted and I’ve worked very hard over the last 18 months since the Olympic Games to get back to competing at the highest level in order to be able to represent Australia and compete against the best at the Commonwealth Games.

“After competing at the Australia Cup at the Coomera Indoor Sports Centre earlier this month it has made me so much more excited to compete in front of my friends and family and the Australian public in general come April.”

Georgia-Rose Brown (Glasgow 2014) and Luke Wadsworth (Glasgow 2014) also bring experience to the team for Gold Coast 2018

Brown was a member of Australia’s Women’s Artistic Gymnastics team that claimed the Silver Medal in the team event in Glasgow.

Queenslander’s Michael Mercieca and Mitchell Morgans have been selected to make their Commonwealth Games debut. Both were originally named in the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games team, but unfortunately had to withdraw prior to the event due to injury.

Other Commonwealth Games debutants include 2010 Australian Commonwealth Games team reserve, Enid Sung, as well Chris Remkes, Michael Tone, Alexandra Eade, Georgia Godwin, Rianna Mizzen, Emily Whitehead and Alexandra Kiroi-Bogatyreva.

Australian Team Chef de Misson, Steve Moneghetti, congratulated the team.

“Congratulations the gymnasts announced in the Australian Team today,” Moneghetti said.

“We saw some great performances from the Gymnastics Team in Glasgow and I’m sure we will see the same with the Team at the Gold Coast.

“The inclusion of these 13 athletes onto the Team brings the current total to 249 of 470 athletes that will represent Australia on the Gold Coast in April.”

Of the 13 gymnasts selected, three are based at Gymnastics Australia’s National Centres of Excellence, five are based at State-run High Performance Centres, and five are based at Clubs with strong High Performance programs.


The full team is:


  • Michael Mercieca (QLD / QLD MAG High Performance Centre)
  • Mitchell Morgans (QLD / MAG National Centre of Excellence – Canberra)
  • Christopher Remkes (SA / MAG National Centre of Excellence – Canberra)
  • Michael Tone (QLD / QLD MAG High Performance Centre)
  • Luke Wadsworth (VIC / VIC MAG High Performance Centre)
  • Georgia-Rose Brown (QLD / QLD WAG High Performance Centre)
  • Alexandra Eade (VIC / WAG National Centre of Excellence – Melbourne)
  • Georgia Godwin (QLD / Delta Gymnastics Brisbane)
  • Rianna Mizzen (QLD / QLD WAG High Performance Centre)
  • Emily Whitehead (VIC / Waverley Gymnastics Centre)
  • Alexandra Kiroi-Bogatyreva (VIC / Prahran Rhythmic Gymnastics Specialist Centre)
  • Danielle Prince (NSW / Le Ray Gymnastics Academy)
  • Enid Sung (NSW / Le Ray Gymnastics Academy)



Become part of our Commonwealth Games Australia family and get all the latest news our team members!