Aussies in Action in Birmingham: Day 1

AAP News

Don’t miss out on any of the Aussies on day 1 of the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games.

Aussies in action on Day 1 of the 2022 Birmingham Commonwealth Games:

Group Matches; Australia v Barbados (1400 BST, 2300 AEST) National Exhibition Centre

Group Matches; Australia v India (1100 BST, Fri 2000 AEST) Edgbaston Cricket Ground

Men’s Individual (Brandon Copeland, Jake Birtwhistle, Matthew Hauser) (1100 BST, 2000 AEST); Women’s Individual (Natalie Van Coevorden, Sophie Linn, Charlotte McShane) (1430 BST, 2130 AEST), Sutton Park

Morning session (From 1230 AEST, Fri 1930 AEST)

Men’s 400m Freestyle Heats (Elijah Winnington, Mack Horton, Sam Short), Women’s 400m Individual Medley Heats (Jenna Forrester, Kiah Melverton), Women’s 200m Freestyle Heats (Ariarne Titmus, Mollie O’Callaghan, Madison Wilson), Men’s 100m Backstroke S9 Heats (Brenden Hall, Timothy Hodge, Harrison Vig), Women’s 100m Freestyle S9 Heats (Emily Beecroft, Ellie Cole, Ashleigh McConnell), Men’s 50m Butterfly Heats (Kyle Chalmers, Cody Simpson, Matt Temple), Women’s 50m Breaststroke Heats (Abbey Harkin, Chelsea Hodges, Jenna Strauch), Men’s 100m Backstroke Heats (Josh Edwards-Smith, Mitch Larkin), Women’s 100m Butterfly Heats (Emma McKeon, Alex Perkins, Brianna Throssell), Men’s 200m Breaststroke Heats (Zac Stubblety-Cook, Matt Wilson), Mixed 4x100m Freestyle Relay Heats (Australia). Night session (from 0400 AEST) – Women’s 400m Individual Medley Final, Women’s 200m Freestyle Final, Men’s 400m Freestyle Final, Men’s 100m Backstroke S9 Final, Women’s 100m Freestyle S9 Final, Men’s 50m Butterfly Semi-Finals, Women’s 50m Breaststroke Semi-Finals, Men’s 100m Backstroke Semi-Final, Women’s 100m Butterfly Semi-Final, Men’s 200m Breaststroke Final, Mixed 4x100m Freestyle Relay Final Sandwell Aquatics Centre

Mixed Team Event Qualifying Round 1 and 2 – Australia v Sri Lanka (Round 1) in Session 2 (from Fri 2300 AEST, 1400 BST) National Exhibition Centre

Women’s Tandem B Sprint (Jessica Gallagher, Caitlin Ward) Qualification, Semi Finals, Finals; Women’s 4000m Team Pursuit (Georgia Baker, Sophie Edwards, Maeve Plouffe, Chloe Moran, Alyssa Polites) Qualification, Finals; Men’s 4000m Team Pursuit (Josh Duffy, Graeme Frislie, Conor Leahy, James Moriarty, Luke Plapp) Qualification, Finals; Women’s Team Sprint (Kristina Clonan, Breanna Hargrave, Alessia McCaig) Qualification, Finals; Men’s Team Sprint (Matthew Glaetzer, Leigh Hoffman, Matthew Richardson) Qualification, Finals; Men’s Tandem B 1000m Time Trial Final (Beau Wootton, Luke Zaccaria) (From 1200 BST, 1900 AEST) Lee Valley VeloPark

Men’s Singles Round of 64 – Rhys Dowling (AUS) v Jason Doyle (SVG) (1215 BST 2115 AEST)


Men’s Team Final and Individual Qualification (Mitchell Morgans, Tyson Bull, James Bacueti, Clay Mason Stephens and Jesse Moore) (1800 BST, 0300 AEST Saturday) Utilita Arena Birmingham

Women’s Team Qualifying Rounds 1 and 2 (Australia v Malaysia); Men’s Team Qualifying Rounds 1 and 2 (Australia v Malaysia) (From 0930 BST, 1830 AEST) National Exhibition Centre

Rounds 1 and 2 – Women’s Singles Sectional Play (Ellen Ryan), Para Men’s Pairs B6-B8 Sectional Play (Damien Delgado, Chris Flavel), Men’s Triples Sectional Play (Barrie Lester, Carl Healey, Ben Twist), Para Women’s Pairs B6-B8 Sectional Play (Cheryl Lindfield, Serena Bonnell), Men’s Pairs Sectional Play (Corey Wedlock, Aaron Wilson), Women’s Fours Sectional Play (Kristina Krstic, Lynsey Clarke, Rebecca van Asch, Natasha van Eldik) (from 0830 BST, 1730 AEST) Victoria Park

Men’s and Women’s Preliminary Rounds – Men’s Light Welterweight Round of 32- Billy Polkinghorn (AUS) v Fabio Tyrell Liam Roselie (SEY) (1330 BST, 2230 AEST), National Exhibition Centre

Women’s Group Match – Australia v Scotland (1530 BST 0030 AEST), Australia v Kenya (2100 BST 0600 AEST); Men’s Wheelchair Group Match – Canada v Australia (1930 BST 0430 AEST); Women’s Wheelchair Group Match – Australia v Scotland (2100 BST 0600 AEST) Smithfield

Men’s Group Matches – Australia v Jamaica (1028 BST 1928 AEST), Australia v Uganda (1920 BST 0420 AEST); Women’s Group Matches – Australia v South Africa (0900 BST 1800 AEST), Australia v Scotland (1752 BST 0252 AEST) Coventry Stadium



Become part of our Commonwealth Games Australia family and get all the latest news our team members!