Queens Birthday Honours


Congratulations to the following members of the Commonwealth Games family who have received Queen’s Birthday honours.

Member of the Order of Australia in the General Division (AM)

Ron Alexander AM – long-time Executive Director of the Department of Sport & Recreation in WA

Lesley Arrowsmith AM – Swimming official who has served at multiple Commonwealth Games.

Eliza Ault-Connell AM – Gold Coast Commonwealth Games wheelchair marathon silver medallist

John Croll AM – Paralympics Australia Vice President

Noeleen Dix AM – Former Netball Australia President, former Board member ACGA and current member of CGA Nominations & Remuneration Committee

Luc Longley AM – former Australian and NBA basketballer.  Gold Caast Commonwealth Games men’s basketball team assistant coach.

Kathryn (Kate) Palmer AM – former Netball Australia CEO and current CEO of Sport Australia

Tony Shaw AM – former Wallaby, current President of Rugby Australia

Dr Susan White AM – long serving team doctor for Netball and Swimming and medical executive at the Melbourne 2006 Commonwealth Games.

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

Geraldine Brown OAM – Former Commonwealth Games Australia Vice President, former President of Badminton Australia

Jan Cameron OAM – Para swimming coach and 1966 Perth Commonwealth Games Swimming medallist athlete. GC2018 Para Sport coach. Sadly Jan passed away in April this year.

Louise Evans OAM – long serving athletics writer

Ken Eynon OAM and Tony Keynes OAM – athletics officials

Daryl Hocking OAM – technical official, Diving Australia

Jim O’Brien OAM – long serving Executive Director, NSW Wheelchair Sports

Tony Strahan OAM – 1962 Perth Commonwealth Games swimming gold medallist and world record holder



Become part of our Commonwealth Games Australia family and get all the latest news our team members!